Mechanics Scholar Program

Texas A&M University

More information about the Mechanics Scholar Exam for Spring 2013 can be found here

The Texas A&M Department of Physics founded the Mechanics Scholar Program in Spring 2002 to identify and honor the best students in Physics 218 (Classical Mechanics). The top performers are identified by an end-of-semester Challenge Exam that is open to all students in all sections (typically 1,500 in the fall and 750 in the spring). It covers the material from the first three exams in the regular Physics 218 sections, inclusively. It is, in some sense, simply for fun and a way to allow students to match their physics skills against the very best here at A&M.

The winners will win a book and a monetary award. As an added incentive, all students who perform well on the challenge exam will be named Addison Wesley / Benjamin Cummings Mechanics Scholars (which includes a certificate suitable for framing), as well be invited to a catered lunch in their honor. In addition to lunch, we will have presentations by faculty members about potential careers for people with high levels of physics problem solving skills. The exam is typically held right before, or during Reading Days, right before finals.

Some good press

  • Fall 2012: Physics Honors Spring 2019 Mechanics Scholars .pdf
  • Fall 2012: Physics Honors Fall 2012 Mechanics Scholars .pdf
  • Spring 2012: PEAK PERFORMERS: Physics Honors 2012 Mechanics Scholars .pdf
  • Spring 2011: HEAD OF THE CLASS: Physics Honors 2011 Mechanics Scholars .pdf

    Presentations given to students named Mechanics Scholars


    Award for Exceptional Performance in Physics 218

    • Kostrzewa, Andy (Fall 2012)

    • Krusleski, Matthew (Spring 2012)

    • Li, Hanyu (Fall 2011)

    • Barry, Matthew (Spring 2011)

    • Perkins, Casey (Fall 2010)

    • Chen, Rongqiang (Spring 2010)

    • Butts, Austin (Fall 2009)

    • Mitchell, Drew P. (Spring 2009)

    • Bhora, Katherine S. (Fall 2008)

    • Lawson, Blain A. (Spring 2008)

    • Olsovsky, Cory A. (Fall 2007)

    • Cheng, Peng (Spring 2007)

    • Zhelezov, Gleb (Fall 2006)

    • Smith, Jason D. (Spring 2006)

    • Geffert, Paul B. (Fall 2005)

    • Chowdhary, Varun (Spring 2005)

    • Barot, Christopher N. (Fall 2004)

    • Chisholm , Ariel D. Z. (Spring 2004)

    • King, Vernon R. (Fall 2003)

    • Smith, David A. (Spring 2003)

    • Guo, Heng (Fall 2002)

    • Thomas, Ryan B. (Spring 2002)